Earth & Environmental Sciences

People

Faculty

 
Asish R. Basu

Asish R. Basu

Adjunct Professor
asish.basu@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5713
227  Hutchison Hall

Interests: My primary research interest lies in applying trace elements, major elements and isotopes in studying Earth processes.

Karen Berger

Karen Berger

Lecturer
Coordinator-College Sustainability Studies, Environmental Programs Curriculum Coordinator
karen.berger@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7611
202 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Teaching Interests: Human use of and impacts on energy and water resources

Rory D. Cottrell

Rory D. Cottrell

Adjunct Instructor
rory.cottrell@rochester.edu | (585) 275-6025
209C Hutchison Hall

Interests: Paleomagnetism and paleointensity

Cynthia Ebinger

Cynthia Ebinger

Professor of Earth and Environmental Science
cynthia.ebinger@rochester.edu | (585) 276-3364
206 Hutchison

Interests: Geodesy, seismology, structural geology, and geodynamics as applied to active and ancient plate boundary deformation, and thermo-mechanical properties of the crust and upper mantle on Earth and terrestrial planets.

Udo Fehn

Udo Fehn

Professor Emeritus
udo.fehn@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7884
224 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Primary research focus is the movement of fluids in the earth's crust, with an emphasis on dating and tracing studies.

Carmala Garzione

Carmala Garzione

Professor
Chair of Earth & Environmental Sciences
carmala.garzione@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3042
227 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Stable Isotopes in Terrestrial Paleoenvironmental Studies; Interaction between Climate and Tectonics; Sedimentary Basin Evolution and Related Tectonic History of Mountain Belts; Geochemical and Petrologic Provenance Studies of Siliciclastic Sedimentary Rocks

Penny Higgins

Penny Higgins

Research Associate
pennilyn.higgins@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0601
209B Hutchison Hall

Interests: Climate change since the Last Glacial Maximum in North America; Terrestrial climate change during the Paleocene Eocene Thermal Maximum in the Western Interior of North America; Climate change and faunal turnover at the boundary between the Torrejonian and Tiffanian North American Land Mammal "Ages"; Tooth growth rates and mineralization patterns in Notoungulate mammals

Placeholder Image

Mauricio Ibanez-Mejia

Research Assistant Professor
Arriving July 2016
ibanezm@mit.edu | (617) 253-2927
University of Rochester

Interests: Radiogenic isotope geochemistry; geochronology; tectonics of mountain belts and lithospheric evolution; large-scale sedimentary provenance; large igneous province magmatism; chronology and tectonics of terrane transfer and supercontinent accretion

John Kessler

John Kessler

Associate Professor
john.kessler@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4572
210 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Chemical Oceanography; Isotope geochemistry; Analytical chemistry

Lawrence Lundgren

Lawrence L. Lundgren

Professor Emeritus
lwlundgren@gmail.com

Interests: Renewable energy systems in Europe-American applications; Environmental medicine

Gautam Mitra

Gautam Mitra

Professor
Graduate Studies Director
gautam.mitra@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5816
208A Hutchison Hall

Interests: Tectonic evolution of mountain belts; Finite strain and strain history analysis; Deformation mechanisms in rocks

Vasilii Petrenko

Vasilii Petrenko

Assistant Professor
Environmental Programs Curriculum Coordinator/Wilmot Assistant Professor
vpetrenk@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 276-6094
228 Hutchinson Hall

Interests: Understanding natural and anthropogenic climate and environmental change, particularly from the perspective of atmospheric composition and chemistry.

Robert Poreda

Robert J. Poreda

Professor
robert.poreda@rochester.edu | (585) 275-0051
224 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Professor Poreda's research focuses on novel applications of noble gas chemistry to the earth sciences, in seven diverse areas.

Placeholder

Alex Pullen

Adjunct Professor
apullen@z.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5713

Interests: Understanding tectonic processes and the evolution of continental lithosphere deformation through the integration of geologic mapping, structural analysis, and geochronology.

John A. Tarduno

John A. Tarduno

Professor
Director of Undergraduate Programs in Geosciences
john.tarduno@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5713
227 Hutchison Hall

Interests: Paleomagnetism, Geomagnetism and Geodynamics, including rates of plate tectonic, hotspot and polar motion, mantle plume volcanism, long-term history of Earth's magnetic field (paleointensity, paleosecular variation and reversal frequency), origin of the geodynamo, inner core growth and magnetic shielding, decay of the modern dipole magnetic field and archeomagnetism;; Cretaceous climate;; environmental magnetism.

Dustin Trail

Dustin Trail

Assistant Professor
dustin.trail@rochester.edu | (585) 276-7182

Interests: Experimental geochemistry; early Earth - including understanding the origin(s) of the oldest terrestrial rocks and minerals; planetary geology; astrobiology; lunar geochemistry; "water" in nominally anhydrous minerals; isotope geochemistry and geochronology of accessory minerals; redox chemistry of magmas, fluids, and minerals - including the application of synchrotron-based techniques